The Electronic Materials and Devices Laboratory (EMDL) is comprised of students and senior researchers with diverse backgrounds across the disciplines of Electrical Engineering, Physics, Materials Science, Chemistry, and Chemical Engineering. Such breadth allows vertical integration of research in electronic materials, nanostructures, optoelectronics, photovoltaics, electronics, device fabrication and integrated systems. The interdisciplinary philosophy of research within EMDL grants a unique perspective and results in extensive collaboration with other groups, at OSU and beyond.


The Electronic Materials and Devices Laboratory (EMDL) at Ohio State is located in the Department of Electrical Engineering and is directed by Professor Steven A. Ringel. For more information about activities and opportunities, please contact the EMDL Executive Assistant, Ms. Jennifer Donovan, at

Recent Publications


  • Esmat Farzana, Elaheh Ahmadi, James S. Speck, Aaron R. Arehart, and Steven A. Ringel, "Deep level defects in Ge-doped (010) β-Ga2O3 layers grown by plasma-assisted molecular beam epitaxy" in Journal of Applied Physics 123 (16), 161410 (2018).


  • E. Farzana, Z. Zhang, P. K. Paul, A. R. Arehart, and S. A. Ringel, "Influence of metal choice on (010) β−Ga2O3 Schottky diode properties",  Appl. Phys. Lett. 110, 202102, May 2017 ( APL Editor's Pick)


  • J. Demuth, E. Fahrenkrug, L. Ma, T. Shodiya, J. I. Deitz, T. J. Grassman and S. Maldonado, "Electrochemical Liquid Phase Epitaxy (ec-LPE): A New Methodology for the Synthesis of Crystalline Group IV Semiconductor Epifilms," Journal of the American Chemical Society 139(20), 6960, 2017. DOI: 


  • S. Karki et al., “In Situ and Ex Situ Investigations of KF Postdeposition Treatment Effects on CIGS Solar Cells,” IEEE J. Photovolt., vol. 7, no. 2, pp. 665–669, March 2017.


  • C. M. Jackson, A. R. Arehart. T. J. Grassman, B. McSkimming, J. S. Speck, and S. A. Ringel, "Impact of Surface Treatment on Interface States of ALD Al2O3/GaN Interfaces", ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology 6 (8), P489-P494, June 2017.


Jacob Boyer wins poster award at 2018 OSU Materials Week

More than a hundred student and postdoctoral researchers shared their work in materials-allied fields during poster sessions at the 2018 OSU Materials Week, held May 8 to 11. Jacob Boyer of EMDL was one of ten students recognized with a poster award. Read More

Steve Ringel wins 2018 Distinguished Professor Award

Steve Ringel was named a 2018 Distinguished University Professor in recognition of his exceptional record in teaching, research, and scholarly work at The Ohio State University. Ringel joins a small group of only 57 awardees in receiving the honor throughout Ohio State history. Read More

Christine Jackson receives 2018 Distinguished Graduate Student Award from the Women in Engineering Program

At the 2018 Women in Engineering banquet, Christine Jackson was one of six Distuingished Graduate Student Awardees.

Kevin Galiano and Julia Deitz win the 2017 OSU Materials Week Student Poster Award

Congratulations Kevin Galiano and Julia Deitz! Both won the 2017 OSU Materials Week Student Poster Award. Read More

Esmat’s paper Highlighted in APL

Esmat’s paper, "Influence of metal choice on (010) β-Ga2O3 Schottky diode properties" was highlighted on Applied Physics Letters homepage as an Editor’s Pick in the week of May 21, 2017. The paper represents an in-depth analysis of metal Schottky contact characteristics on β-Ga2O3, transport mechanisms operative in the contacts and, correlation of work function and barrier height with different metal choices. The insights derived will play an important role in gate metal engineering and its functionality for future high power application devices. Read More

Prof. Tyler Grassman Wins SunShot Award to Develop High Efficiency Tandem Solar Cell

Prof. Tyler Grassman (MSE/ECE) was awarded $1,124,999 to develop a tandem solar cell with gallium arsenide phosphide (GaAsP) on silicon (Si) aimed at 30% or higher efficiency. Read More

Daniel Chmielewski Wins Best Student Paper Award at the 43rd IEEE PVSC

Congratulations to Daniel Chmielewski! Daniel won the best student paper award at the 43rd IEEE Photovoltaics Specialist Conference for his presentation "Comparative Study of 2.05 eV AlGaInP and Metamorphic GaInP Materials and Solar Cells Grown by MBE and MOCVD."

Kevin Galiano Wins 2016 OSU Materials Week Student Poster Award

Congratulations Kevin Galiano! Kevin won the 2016 OSU Materials Week Student Poster Award for his project "Spatial Localization of Electron Traps in GaN." Read More

Daniel Chmielewski Wins 2016 Kraus Memorial Poster Competition

Congratulations to Daniel Chmielewski! Daniel won the 2016 Kruas Memorial Poster Competition for his project "III-V/Active-Si Integration for Low-Cost High-Performance Concentrator Photovoltaics". As a reward, he was given the opportunity to present his work at the 2016 OSU ECE Alumni meetup event held at the Engineers' Club of Dayton. Read More

Zeng Zhang awarded MRS 2015 Electronic Materials Conference Best Student Paper Award

Congratulations to Zeng Zhang! Zeng earned the 2015 MRS Electronic Materils Conference Best Student Paper Award for his presentation: "Deep Level States in p-Type GaN Grown by Ammonia-Based Molecular Beam Epitaxy and Metal Organic Chemical Vapor Deposition".

Prof. Steve Ringel Named 2015 OSU Distinguished Scholar

Steve Ringel Receives Distinguished Scholar Award

Professor Steve Ringel was named a 2015 OSU Distinguished Scholar honoring his commitment to research work in wide bandgap semiconductors and photovoltaics and to leadership as Executive Director of the OSU Institute for Materials Research (IMR) and as the Principal Investigator of the Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability Discovery Theme Initiative. Read more